>My Top 5 : Winter

>

I had a dream last night that my friends stopped talking to me because of my negativity.  I spent the entire dream trying to convince them that I was a positive person, but every time I spoke, negativeness poured uncontrollably out of my mouth and they ran away from me.  This is no doubt due to the crazy workings of my subconscious as lately I’ve been thinking about how I can be pretty darn negative from time-to-time.  Winter is when I find it hardest to be positive.  The sun seems to disappear for years on end.  My nose hairs freeze the moment I step outside, making breathing almost impossible.  It is, hands down, my least favorite of the seasons.  Now before I go and get all negative again, let me say that I’m trying to be nicer to Winter.  Which brings me to this most recent installment of My Top 5 (formerly, or rather, once before this, Top 5 Tuesday :]).  
The first snowfall/White Christmas – I’ll admit that the first time it snows is magical.  The ground is perfect and unblemished.  Sounds are muffled.  People (especially me) find reasons to stay at home.  Add Christmas to that, and you certainly have the most magical time of the year! 
Not having to worry about dying in a tornado – Thunderstorms are my least favorite thing about spring, summer, and fall. 🙂
Tea, soup, chili, oatmeal, and other warm food and drink – Another excuse to use my awesome Crockpot with the result of a tasty meal that warms my bones??? I’ll take it!!
Cozy sweaters – It wasn’t until recently that I realized that in order to stay warm during winter, I have to dress warm.  I know what you’re thinking: Duh. I’m thinking that too. 🙂
Not feeling guilty about staying inside – Having to stay inside is one of the reasons why I hate winter, but with a little change in attitude, I’m learning to appreciate not feeling the guilt I do in the summer when I’m not able to get out and enjoy the nicer weather.  Also, Seth and I have discovered the joy of boardgames, our favorite right now being Settlers of Catan. 
Feel free to add any of your favorite things about Winter in the comment section!  If anything, it might help lessen my hatred of the season. 😉 
My 2 favorite guys in the snow. 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 
Have a great Tuesday!  UPDATE :  It was Wednesday when I posted this.  I have no brain.
This entry was posted in My Top 5, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to >My Top 5 : Winter

  1. Anna says:

    >I love that photo! Good and admirable effort, Chrissy. One of my favorite parts about winter (I also have typically hated the season)is staying in. Like you, in summer I'm so focused on being outside, the inside is neglected. Even though it can swing depressing, it is fun to be inside cuddling with my little ones.

  2. Mandee says:

    >Winter is my FAVORITE time of year. Yes capitalized. I love so much about it. I have to say though that you took some of mine,the tornados being my all time number one. So I have to reach into my "top 10" to add to this already awsome list. Frist, I love the space of time between Christmas and Valentines day. there is absolutly nothing to do. I dig out projects I have ethir already started or want to start and I finsh them (two done already for this year). Second, Great accesories! No one can look bad in a cute hat, gloves, and scarf. These three peices solve most bad hair days, the botched up home manicure, and they don't have to match to look cute. Third, my house stays cleaner. Since I am always inside looking at it, I tend to keep it cleaner. During the summer I spend so much time outside that the inside gets waysided. And forth, there is nothing like a winter night when big fat snowflakes are falling and the moon is so bright it reflects of the snow, lighting up the night. It's almost like sitting in a snowglobe thats just been turned over! LOVE winter!

  3. Dacia says:

    >I always say every season is my favorite, which is why it is great to live in Northerm IL. But I love witner for a few reasons. Mostly because of the snow, I LOVE snow. It is so beautiful and it awakens the childhood spirit in me. I enjoy sledding and building snow forts, but it is also great to retreat inside to some warm soup (soup is a Well's fav)! Hot chocolate too! It is also great to cuddle up and watch a movie. There usually comes a point when I am tired of winter but right now I am praying for more snow!

Leave a Reply

