>Luc’s First Birthday Party!!

>

Things have been a bit crazy at the Deming house this past week, preventing me from editing and posting these pictures sooner.  Seth was crazy sick, Lucas was teething, fevering and waking up early every day, and I was just trying to keep myself together!  Thankfully, everyone is back to normal, and neither Lucas nor I have caught what Seth had (Thank you, God!!).

And now, back to our regularly scheduled program. πŸ™‚

I fully expected myself to cry at Luc’s party.  I’m much weepier now after having a child (can any of you other moms relate??) and just thinking about him turning one was enough to get me all teary.  I know it sounds totally clichΓ©, but his first year just went by so fast.  Like, scary fast.  Needless to say, I was little worried that I was going to embarrass myself in front of everyone we know during the official celebration.

When the day of his party came, I did end up getting a little misty. Not because my baby was growing up, however, but because of the amount of people that came to celebrate with us.  I mean, I knew who all was coming, but having everyone there all at once and actually seeing them was pretty amazing.  I was feeling the love for sure and was reminded once again of how God has blessed us with amazing friends and family. πŸ™‚
     

Lucas woke from his nap just as the guests were arriving.  He had just learned how to crawl earlier that week (FINALLY, my late bloomer!), so I let him make his grand entrance all on his own.  He is, after all, a big boy now. 

He made his rounds and was played with by many friends.  He may look a little scared in some of the pictures, but he’s not.  He’s just a shy guy and a little observer. πŸ™‚

So many shoes!!!!

I made the cake AND the chocolate frosting from scratch (shameless back-patting, I know!), Seth’s sister AJ made the white frosting, and Seth decorated the cake. 

“Happy Birthday” time!!!

Seth blew out the candle just in time!

Luc’s first taste of Heaven.  He was a little unsure of what to do after we sang “Happy Birthday” and put the cupcake down in front of him, but it wasn’t long before he was shoving it into his mouth and yelling “NOM NOM!”  

“Hello.  I’m going to eat you now.”

Auntie AJ was helping him with the crumbs and remaining frosting and he was so excited he kept following the fork with his mouth, and was then trying to grab it and shove it into his mouth faster!  

“Success!  Now, what to do with this…”

Luc and his 83-year-old Great-Gram.

I’m pretty sure I enjoyed opening Luc’s presents more than he did. πŸ™‚ 

Isn’t he just too cool for school??

When everything was said and done, the party was awesome!  I’m a little sad that I wasn’t able to talk to everyone as much as I wanted to, which always seems to happen at parties, but it was still great to see everyone!  And I still can’t believe Lucas is ONE YEAR OLD.  It’s seriously out of control. πŸ™‚
Happy Almost Friday!!!!!
This entry was posted in kids, Lucas, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to >Luc’s First Birthday Party!!

  1. Kerri says:

    >Adorable, thanks for sharing!!!! He is just the cutest!!!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    >#1 Lucas is adorable. #2 Your work is always amazing. -Joni

Leave a Reply

